The Four Levels of Intellectual Disability

Written by Dr. Betty Patten

What are the four levels of intellectual disability?

Intellectual disability is generally classified into four levels of severity: mild, moderate, severe, and profound.

  1. Mild intellectual disability: This is the most common type of intellectual disability, and people with this level of disability typically have an IQ of 50-70. They can usually learn basic skills and may be able to live independently or with support.

  2. Moderate intellectual disability: Individuals with moderate intellectual disability have an IQ of 35-50. They can learn some basic skills and may be able to live independently with support.

  3. Severe intellectual disability: People with severe intellectual disability have an IQ of 20-35. They may be able to learn some basic life skills but will likely require significant support throughout their lives.

  4. Profound intellectual disability: People with profound intellectual disability have an IQ of less than 20. They will likely require constant care and support for their entire lives.

It's important to note that this is a general classification and it's not always easy to accurately determine the IQ of a person and these classifications can also vary depending on the system used to classify

Get started today background image

Get started today

Centralize the management of independence for neurodiverse individuals with Equip's comprehensive suite of tools. Designed to empower the journey towards independence and streamline the circle of support.